• The Center for Career Discovery engages with more than 1,000 industry partners to support student work-based learning and career exploration opportunities. Annually, the Center supports 2,500+ work-based learning experiences. These include apprenticeships, internships, micro-internships and supported worksites, all of which help advise and affirm career choices for students before they graduate. District 214 is helping students make connections and gain invaluable job skills while also addressing the employment needs of local businesses and industries.   

    The Center for Career Discovery also provides career-related activities such as Career Nights and Career Treks, site visits, industry speakers in the classroom and career exploration presentations to support students’ skill development, decision-making and post-secondary goal setting.

    For more information about the Center for Career Discovery and the opportunities it provides, students should contact either their counselor or their building Student Success Coach.

    Student Success Coaches:

    Buffalo Grove High School
    Christy Lenzini
    christy.lenzini@d214.org | 847-718-4236

    Elk Grove High School
    Pat Handel
    pat.handel@d214.org | 847-718-4517

    John Hersey High School
    Angela Ferrazza
    angela.ferrazza@d214.org | 847-718-5067

    Prospect High School
    Kris Thompson
    kristine.thompson@d214.org | 847-718-5310

    Rolling Meadows High School
    Kim Carlson
    kim.carlson@d214.org | 847-718-5879

    Wheeling High School
    Valerie Bank
    valerie.bank@d214.org | 847-718-7435

Contacts

  • Barb Kain
    Director for Career Discovery
    barb.kain@d214.org | 847-718-7682

    Kathy Gannon
    Partnership Manager
    kathy.gannon@d214.org | 847-718-7483

    Roger Guy
    Career Discovery Supervisor
    roger.guy@d214.org | 847-718-7933

    Nicole McCormick
    Special Education Evaluator/Coordinator
    nicole.mccormick@d214.org | 847-718-5064

    Emily Janisch
    Division Assistant
    emily.janisch@d214.org | 847-718-7958

    Kathy Schmidt
    Career Discovery Assistant
    katherine.schmidt@d214.org | 847-718-7463

    Ruth Nechas
    Career Discovery Assistant
    ruth.nechas@d214.org | 847-718-7506

    Alisa Stanfield
    Career Discovery Assistant
    alisa.stanfield@d214.org | 847-718-7558