Statewide recognition for 214 via 'Those Who Excel'


Half a dozen District 214 education professionals were among those formally honored recently by the the Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) and its “Those Who Excel" program.


"Those Who Excel" honors were earned by Kyle Burritt, Associate Principal and 

Division Head for Career and Technology Education at Elk Grove High School; Nancy Davis, college counselor at Hersey High School; Buffalo Grove HIgh School physics teacher Stefanie Ronge; Wheeling High School dance and yoga teacher Diane Rawlinson and the Mustang Business and Design Team of Rolling Meadows High School, formed by teachers Kent Dyer and Amy Vannatta.


Profiles and photos of District 214's honorees may be found at the 214Ready blog.


ISBE annually sponsors Those Who Excel to honor individuals who have made significant contributions to the state's elementary and secondary schools. Excellence, Meritorious Service and Special Recognition ​awards are presented in seven categories: classroom teacher, school administrator/principal, student support personnel (licensed), educational service personnel (unlicensed), school board member/community volunteer; team, and early career educator. Nominations are evaluated by a selection committee;  local school district leaders and members of school communities nominate candidates.​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Back to news