District 214 leader named 2018 National Superintendent of the Year

Dr. David R. Schuler, superintendent of High School District 214 in Arlington Heights, Ill., has been named the 2018 AASA National Superintendent of the Year.

“I’m so honored and privileged to serve as superintendent of High School District 214. This award (is) an amazing recognition of the work that our team, our kids and our families have done,” said Schuler as a 2018 National Superintendent of the Year finalist.

The announcement, made at the National Conference on Education hosted by AASA, The School Superintendents Association, follows the state recognition of Paul Kelly, principal of District 214’s Elk Grove High School, as 2018 Illinois High School Principal of the Year. In 2017, Elk Grove High School educator Ricardo Castro was honored as the Illinois Teacher of the Year.

A national education leader, Schuler served as the 2015-16 president of AASA. He launched AASA’s Redefining Ready! program, an initiative to introduce new research-based metrics to more appropriately assess that students are college, career and life ready.

His push to make college more accessible and affordable has led to a comprehensive Career Pathways program that offers access to a sequence of career-focused courses, early college credit, internships and career credentials, and the passage of critical education legislation. Annually, District 214 earn more than 34,000 early college credits and participate in 2,700 workplace learning experiences.

District 214 now teaches computer science to all 12,000 students, and its six schools were among only seven in the nation to pilot an iOS app development curriculum, initiatives which were recognized by the White House.

Now in its 31th year, the National Superintendent of the Year program, co-sponsored by AASA, VALIC and First Student, celebrates the contributions and leadership of public school superintendents.

The other National Superintendent of the Year finalists were:

  • Wendy Robinson, Fort Wayne Community Schools, Ft. Wayne, Ind.
  • Mary Sieu, ABC Unified School District, Cerritos, Calif.
  • Mike Winstead, Maryville City Schools, Maryville, Tenn.

A $10,000 college scholarship will be presented in the name of the 2018 AASA National Superintendent of the Year to a student in the high school from which the superintendent graduated, or the school now serving the same area.

Back to news