High School District 214
Highlights from the Board of Education Meetings

Feature Story 


Board adopts PARCC resolution


The Board of Education at its Thursday meeting adopted a resolution expressing concerns about the Partnership for the Assessment of Readiness for College and Careers (PARCC) examination, a multi-state assessment aligned to the Common Core State Standards.


In High School District 214, the PARCC exam will be given between March 9 and April 15 and again between April 27 and May 20. Among the concerns are the amount of testing the exam requires, the additional stress it places on students and the logistical challenges it poses for scheduling classes.


The resolution called on the Illinois State Board of Education to carefully review all possibilities regarding State-required assessments before the 2015-2016  

school year.


To view the testing schedule, click here.


Vision 20/20 resolution approved


The Board of Education adopted a resolution that urges the Illinois General Assembly to approve legislative changes to improve public education.


The resolution, a result of the Vision 20/20 initiative, encourages legislators to look at four key areas: highly effective educators, 21st century learning, shared accountability, and equitable and adequate funding.


The Vision 20/20 initiative reflects the opinions of educators and stakeholders from across the state who believe in public education and want strides to be made  

to continually improve the system on the local and state levels.


Outstanding students recognized


The Board recognized more than 100 talented students across the District for their achievements in athletics and fine and performing arts. To see the photos, click here.


Highlights included:


Illinois High School Theatre Festival - 

All-State Musical

Talented students from across Illinois auditioned this year to be part of the All-State Musical. Only a select few were chosen to perform the award-winning "Pippin" at the Krannert Center for the Performing Arts at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.


Buffalo Grove High School:

Cassandra Deck, Pit Orchestra Member

Milan Babic, Cast Member

Cole Festenstein, Cast Member


Rolling Meadows High School:

Athena Kopulous, Cast Member

Hannah Yonan, Cast Member

Nora Simonson, Cast Member

Rachel Hemm, Cast Member

Danielle Sioui, Pit Orchestra Member

Jack Stahl, Pit Orchestra Member

Zach Keunstle, Pit Orchestra Member


IMEA All-State Honors Band, Orchestra and Choir

Each fall, thousands of students from across the state audition to participate in one of nine district Illinois Music Educators Association music ensembles. Only the best from each district are chosen to participate in the All-State music ensemble, and only the best of that group is chosen for an Honors All-State Music Ensemble. Students from Prospect will be honored at a future meeting.


Buffalo Grove High School:

Junior Brendan Altieri, Band


Elk Grove High School:

Jordan Niebuhr, Choir

Pascal Pahl, Vocal Jazz Ensemble

Kathryn Riopel, Choir


John Hersey High School:

Angela Kucharski, Band

Emily Heuck, Band

Yuki Nojima, Band

Gallia Kastner, Orchestra

Erin Heuck, Orchestra


Rolling Meadows High School:

Athena Kopulous, Choir

Erin Rivera, Choir

Jacob Rosenberg, Choir

Jack Stahl, Concert Band

Wes Carroll, Jazz Band

Michael Priller, Orchestra

Nathaniel Lindstrom, Vocal Ensemble Composition


Wheeling High School:

Anthony Gonzalez, Jazz Band

Bryan Marban, Jazz Band

Shannon Richards, Choir


Elk Grove High School All-State Music Festival

The Elk Grove Symphonic Band, under the direction of Ron Fiorito, Jr., was chosen as one of only six high school bands from across the state to perform at the All-State Music Festival. This was the first time in school history that the group has performed at this prestigious event.


Members include:

Sean Angara, Inga Augustaitis, Lukas Augustaitis,  

Ryan Baird, Angelo Bastas, John Bialorucki, Sydney Chan, Marc Christopher, Andrew Coleman, Alejandro  

De Jesus, Melissa De La Cruz, Alexander Diez, Adam Doruff, Christopher Doruff, Cailin Dwyer, Lauren Eilers, Erin Falejczyk, Basilios Frentzas, Sean Frintner, Estefania Gonzalez, Hannah Gray, Safia Hattab, Christina Hendren, Maria Hernandez, Matthew Jarosch, Elizabeth McDaniel, Laila Mitchel, Matthew Nowak, Megan Oglesby, Pascal Pahl, Melina Papadakis, Neeca Penaflor, Douglas Petrik, Arkadiusz Piechowski, Kathryn Riopel, Kelly Rogers,  

Juan Rojas, Nick Rosenorn, Gregory Rynne, Cassandra Sanchez, Gretchen Schneider, Katie Skoufes, Steven Tompary, Miranda Wagner, Andrew Witmer and  

Frederick Ziegler


Buffalo Grove High School Co-Ed Cheerleaders

The 2014-2015 Buffalo Grove High School co-ed cheerleaders had a remarkable season and won the Illinois High School Association (IHSA) state title in February. This is the seventh state title Head Coach  

Jeff Siegel has won in the 10 years that cheerleading  

has been an IHSA sport.


Members include:

Bailey Arcillas, Christopher Benson, Ashley Blumenthal, Lauren Castleman, Katie Coan, Ryan Drum, Miranda Greene, Lauren Hintzman, Caleb Jones, Milena Laera, Ashley McBride, Karson McEwen, Kennedy McEwen, Edgar Melgoza, Christian Miguel, Monica Misch, Rachel Nehring, Olivia Nowak, Rachel Picciola, Aysun Poturovic, Daniel Ramirez, Kimberly Ramirez, Adrian Rodriguez, Kailee Tasca, Sammi Theodore, Amy Walter, Gorgis Yelda and Justine Zirngibl

About High School District 214
We are the second largest high school district in Illinois, serving
more than 12,000 students from eight communities. Our nationally recognized district includes six comprehensive high schools and four alternative programs, offering more than 600 academic courses and 140 co-curricular opportunities.

Tuesday, March 10, 2015 

After the Gavel

The Board of Education approved preliminary budget guidelines and assumptions,
a starting point for developing the District's 2015-2016 Annual Budget. Despite unknowns in the state budget, the District intends to present the Board with a balanced operating budget as it has in previous years.
© 2015 Township High School District 214. All rights reserved.