District 214 Students Named as Semifinalists in 2013 National Merit Scholarship Program

September 27, 2012

     Township High School District 214 is pleased to announce the names of students who have been identified as Semifinalists in the 58th annual National Merit Scholarship Program (NMSP):
Buffalo Grove High School -- Miranda Thoenen.
John Hersey High School -- Steven Landeweer, Andrew Napora, and Vivek Shah.
Prospect High School -- Anna Boratyn, Rachel Levenson, Chris Mathew, and Justin Wang.
Rolling Meadows High School -- Mariah Heck, Jacqueline Rohde, and Rachel Williams.
Wheeling High School -- Rosalie Chan.
     Approximately 1.5 million juniors in some 22, 000 high schools entered the 2013 NMSP last fall by taking the 2011 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT), which served as an initial screen of program entrants. The nationwide pool of Semifinalists, which represents less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest scoring entrants in each state. The number of Semifinalists in a state is proportional to the state's percentage of the national total of graduating seniors. 
     They are among the 16, 000 academically talented students in the nation who will now have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 8,300 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million that will be offered next spring.
     To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. About 90 percent of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title. Merit Scholar designees are selected on the basis of their skills, accomplishments, and potential for success in rigorous college studies, without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin, or religious preference.
     National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance, was established in 1955 specifically to conduct the annual NMSP. Scholarships are underwritten by NMSC with its own funds and by approximately 440 business organizations and higher education institutions that share NMSC's goals of honoring the nation's scholastic champions and encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence.


District 214| 2121 S. Goebbert Rd. Arlington Heights, IL 60005| 847-718-7600
© 2011 Township High School District 214. All rights reserved. |Site Map|Terms & Conditionss|Privacy Policy|Contact Us|RSS