District 214 Acknowledges Commended Students in the 2013 National Merit Scholarship Program

September 27, 2012

     The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) has honored 48 District 214 students as Commended Scholars in the 2013 National Merit Scholarship Program (NMSP), one of the most esteemed scholastic competitions in the nation. The honorees are as follows:
Buffalo Grove High School--Erin Begnel, Nicholas Konetzke, Payal Kumar, Catherine Mahon, Michael Maley, Edward Plunkett, Nicholas Poirier, Allyson Richman, Megan Rullo, Katherine Shanahan, and Sarah Wenzel.
Elk Grove High School--Joseph Ellery, Michael Glinski, and Daniel Kim.
John Hersey High School--Eric Hauser, James Hill, Allison Jager, William Ryan Kloud, James Lee, Andrew McDonagh, Jacob Pepe, Conner Steines, and Roya Zandi.
Prospect High SchoolKyle Brown, Avi Chitman, Margaret Devereux, Nina Hermes, Holly Hunt, Brian Keyser, Alpa Kotak, Kevin McNally, Joanna Orzel, Maximilian Rohde, Anna Salnikova, Neil Sheth, and Eric Wood.
Rolling Meadows High School--Celina Chiodo, Thomas Ciemniak, Aidan Dolik, Madeline Hume, Peter Nickle, Michael Nugent, Christopher Slivovsky, and Claire Baum. 
Wheeling High School--Darby Dammeier, Omar Joya, Eric Ruttenberg, and Mitchell Zaretsky.
    The distinction is based on students' scores from the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) taken in October 2011. Approximately 34,000 high performers have been named Commended Students throughout the nation and are recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the 2013 competition for National Merit scholarships, Commended Students placed among the top five-percent of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2013 competition by taking the PSAT/NMSQT.  As demonstrated by their outstanding performance in this competitive program, they represent some of the most academically talented students in the country.


District 214| 2121 S. Goebbert Rd. Arlington Heights, IL 60005| 847-718-7600
© 2011 Township High School District 214. All rights reserved. |Site Map|Terms & Conditionss|Privacy Policy|Contact Us|RSS