The Academy at Forest View

In 1973, District 214 established a program to meet the learning needs of highly at-risk special education students. In 1992 this program became the Forest View Alternative School. Housed in the Forest View Educational Center, the school focuses on redirecting inappropriate and counter productive student behavior. Students participate in learning activities that focus on developing independence, belonging, mastery, and generosity in the school and community. Referrals are made through the Student Services screening teams at each school.

The Academy at Forest View
Forest View Educational Center - C Building
2121 South Goebbert Road
Arlington Heights, IL 60005

Director: Kara Kendrick, (847) 718-7771 | kara.kendrick@d214.org
Assistant Director: Deirdre Williams | deirdre.williams@d214.org
Admin. Assistant: Emma Avilez, (847) 718-7772 | emma.avilez@d214.org

Visit website

 

Newcomer Center 

High School District 214 was awarded a Bilingual Education Grant from the U.S. Department of Education on January 28, 2002. As a result, District 214 opened the doors to a new program, the Language Immersion Newcomer Center (Newcomer Center). Immigrant students with limited English language skills enroll in the Newcomer Center for a maximum of one or two semesters and one summer school session (6 weeks). The Newcomer Center is designed to meet the learning needs of high school aged second language learners who recently arrived in the United States and have minimal years of schooling. After completing the program, students are transitioned to their home high school.

REGISTRATION & ENROLLMENT
All students need to register at their home high school's Student Services Department.

Buffalo Grove High School 1100 W. Dundee Road, Buffalo Grove, IL 60089 (847) 718-4022
Elk Grove High School 500 W. Elk Grove Blvd., Elk Grove, IL 60007 (847) 718-4422
John Hersey High School 1900 E. Thomas St., Arlington Heights, IL 60004 (847) 718-4822
Prospect High School 801 W. Kensington Road, Mount Prospect, IL 60056 (847) 718-5222
Rolling Meadows High School 2901 W. Central Road, Rolling Meadows, IL 60008 (847) 718-5622
Wheeling High School 900 S. Elmhurst Road, Wheeling, IL 60090 (847) 718-7022


After completing the proper registration forms, eligible students will be given directions to the Newcomer Center. No student can be enrolled at the Newcomer Center until he/she completes the registration forms at the home high school. The Newcomer Center is open Monday through Friday, 7:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. (summer, Monday through Thursday 7:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.). For registration, students should go to building A, room 337 (signs are posted).

At the Newcomer Center staff will review transcripts and administer diagnostic and placement assessments to ensure that each student will have an appropriate program of instruction. Each student will receive instruction in English, math, social studies, PE/health and reading. The overall purpose of the program is to accelerate English language acquisition.

Newcomer Center
Forest View Educational Center - Building A
2121 South Goebbert Road
Arlington Heights, IL 60005

Director: Angela Sisi, (847) 718-7836 | angela.sisi@d214.org
Coordinator: Mario Perez, (847) 718 7936 | mario.perez@d214.org
Assistant: Diane Guzman, (847) 718-7937 | diane.guzman@d214.org

Visit Website

 

Vanguard – A School of Personalized Learning 

Vanguard is a personalized learning school for students in grades 10 through 12 who seek a smaller, supportive environment. Vanguard provides a non traditional education where a team of teachers implements new instructional techniques, uses innovative digital curriculum, and utilizes community resources to meet the academic needs and career aspirations of students. Students are exposed to a variety of service learning and career exposure opportunities each week. They are provided with a variety of opportunities to both accelerate through high school credit and begin earning college credits. Admission is the result of collaboration among school representatives, Vanguard staff, the student, and his/her parent(s) or guardian(s).

Vanguard – A School of Personalized Learning
Forest View Educational Center - A Building
2121 South Goebbert Road
Arlington Heights, IL 60005

Director: Kate Kraft, 847-718-7888 | kate.kraft@d214.org
Admin. Assistant: Teresa Sotelo, 847-718-7870 | teresa.sotelo@d214.org

Visit website

Young Adult Program

District 214 offers an evening high school program located at the Forest View Educational Center for students who are not successful in a traditional high school environment or who cannot attend school during the day. This programs is designed to help young adults earn their high school diploma during the hours of 4:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m., Monday through Thursday. Students must live within the attendance boundaries of High School District 214, be at least 17 years old, have obtained a minimum of 10 high school credits and provide their own transportation to participate in the Young Adult Program.

The Young Adult Program also offers credit recovery for students who are currently enrolled in day school. This allows students, with the permission of their counselor, school administration and the YAP coordinator, to enroll in a limited number of classes in order to recover credits from previously taken courses not completed successfully.

Young Adult Program
Rolling Meadows High School
2901 West Central Road
Rolling Meadows, IL 60008

Coordinator: Dan Williams, 847-718-5788 | dan.williams@d214.org
Assistant: Deb Hogan, 874-718-5787 | deb.hogan@d214.org